A Clean, Well-Lighted Place

A Clean, Well-Lighted Place

Here is Jon Krakauer’s portrait of the iconoclastic architect Christopher Alexander, whose revolutionary human-centered approach has shaken the foundations...

Read more ›
The Wizard and the Prophet

The Wizard and the Prophet

From the best-selling, award-winning author of 1491 and 1493--an incisive portrait of the two little-known twentieth-century scientists, Norman Borlaug and William Vogt, whose diametrically...

Read more ›
American War

American War

A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOKONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR: The Washington Post • San Francisco Chronicle • NPR • GQ •...

Read more ›
Burntown

Burntown

INTERNATIONAL THRILLER AWARD-WINNING AUTHOROn the surface, Ashford, Vermont, seems like a quaint New England college town, but to those who live among the shadowy remains...

Read more ›
The Monk of Mokha

The Monk of Mokha

The Monk of Mokha is the exhilarating true story of a young Yemeni American man, raised in San Francisco, who dreams of resurrecting the ancient art of Yemeni coffee...

Read more ›
The Stranger in the Woods

The Stranger in the Woods

A National Geographic Best Book of the Year National BestsellerMany people dream of escaping modern life. Most will never act on it—but in 1986,...

Read more ›
The Thirst

The Thirst

#1 International Best Seller  In this electrifying new thriller from the author of Police and The Snowman, Inspector Harry Hole hunts down a serial murderer who targets his victims . . . on...

Read more ›
This Narrow Space

This Narrow Space

A memoir both bittersweet and inspiring by an American pediatric oncologist who spent seven years in Jerusalem treating children—Israeli Jews, Muslims, and Christians, and Palestinian...

Read more ›
The Underground Railroad

The Underground Railroad

Winner of the Pulitzer PrizeWinner of the National Book AwardWinner of the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in FictionLonglisted for the Man Booker PrizeWinner of the Arthur C. Clarke AwardFinalist...

Read more ›
Being Wagner

Being Wagner

Simon Callow, the celebrated author of Orson Welles, delivers a dazzling, swift, and accessible biography of the musical titan Richard Wagner and his profoundly problematic legacy--a fresh take for seasoned acolytes...

Read more ›
Bleaker House

Bleaker House

When she was twenty-seven, Nell Stevens—a lifelong aspiring novelist—won an all-expenses-paid fellowship to go anywhere in the world to write. Would...

Read more ›
The Crisis of the Middle-Class Constitution

The Crisis of the Middle-Class Constitution

In this original, provocative contribution to the debate over economic inequality, Ganesh Sitaraman argues that a strong and sizable middle class is a prerequisite for America’s constitutional...

Read more ›
Free Women, Free Men

Free Women, Free Men

Ever since the release of her seminal first book, Sexual Personae, Camille Paglia has remained one of feminism's most outspoken, independent, and searingly...

Read more ›
Full Wolf Moon

Full Wolf Moon

On the trail of a killer who cannot possibly exist . . .   Jeremy Logan, the renowned "enigmalogist," has often found himself in situations where keeping...

Read more ›
Hey Harry, Hey Matilda

Hey Harry, Hey Matilda

Matilda Goodman is an underemployed wedding photographer grappling with her failure to live as an artist and the very bad lie she has told her boyfriend (that she...

Read more ›
The Hollywood Daughter

The Hollywood Daughter

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Dressmaker and A Touch of Stardust, comes a Hollywood coming-of-age novel, in which Ingrid Bergman's affair with Roberto Rossellini...

Read more ›
I Am, I Am, I Am

I Am, I Am, I Am

"I Am I Am I Am is a gripping and glorious investigation of death that leaves the reader feeling breathless, grateful, and fully alive. Maggie O’Farrell is a miracle in every sense. I will never forget this book."—Ann...

Read more ›
Jagannath

Jagannath

An award-winning debut story collection by Karin Tidbeck, author of Amatka and heir to Borges, Le Guin, and Lovecraft.A child is born in a tin can. A...

Read more ›
Only Child

Only Child

"Perfect for fans of Room, this heartbreaking but important novel offers a new perspective on trauma and reminds readers that hope can be found in even the darkest moments."--Nora Horvath, Real Simple "Five Books That Won't...

Read more ›
Richard Nixon

Richard Nixon

From a prize-winning biographer comes the defining portrait of a man who led America in a time of turmoil and left us a darker age. We live today, John A. Farrell shows, in a world Richard Nixon...

Read more ›
Robert Lowell, Setting the River on Fire

Robert Lowell, Setting the River on Fire

In this magisterial study of the relationship between illness and art, the best-selling author of An Unquiet Mind brings a fresh perspective to the life and...

Read more ›
The Rub of Time

The Rub of Time

The definitive collection of essays and reportage written during the past thirty years from one of most provocative and widely read writers--with new commentary by the author.For...

Read more ›
The Strange Order of Things

The Strange Order of Things

From one of our preeminent neuroscientists: a landmark reflection that spans the biological and social sciences, offering a new way of understanding the origins of life, feeling, and culture....

Read more ›

Load more