Things That Happened Before the Earthquake

Things That Happened Before the Earthquake

Welcome to LA? Nineties' Hollywood gets an Italian makeover in this poignant and ruefully funny coming-of-age novel featuring a teenage girl who's on shaky ground—in...

Read more ›
The 1964 Election and Its Aftermath

The 1964 Election and Its Aftermath

"Can anyone remember a public official with the courage to confess error and explain where he and his country went wrong? This is what Robert McNamara does in this brave, honest,...

Read more ›
An Antiwar Delegation in Hanoi

An Antiwar Delegation in Hanoi

Bill Zimmerman put his life at risk for the greater social good when he smuggled medicines to the front lines in North Vietnam and spent time filming in Hanoi under U.S. bombardment....

Read more ›
Because Our Fathers Lied

Because Our Fathers Lied

Robert S. McNamara was the official face of Vietnam, the technocrat with steel-rimmed glasses and an ironclad faith in numbers who kept insisting that the war was winnable long after he...

Read more ›
By the Rule

By the Rule

Draftee Philip Dosier tells the story of his war. Straight from high school, too young to vote or buy himself a drink, he enters a world of mud and heat, blood and body counts, ambushes and firefights....

Read more ›
Fathers and Daughters

Fathers and Daughters

The youngest of six children in a close-knit Buddhist family, Le Ly Hayslip was twelve years old when U.S. helicopters landed in Ky La, her tiny village in central Vietnam. As the...

Read more ›
A Federal Offense

A Federal Offense

“We weren’t meant to be here.” From the modern classic memoir, In Pharaoh’s Army, a selection by Tobias Wolff portrays the final days of civilian...

Read more ›
An Illness Caused by Youth

An Illness Caused by Youth

Veteran Jack Bissell only deepened the abyss between him and his son Tom when he talked about the Vietnam war. But, when a magazine editor sends the two back to Vietnam for...

Read more ›
Illumination Rounds

Illumination Rounds

Fresh in his boots and three days in-country, Michael Herr is in a Chinook when a young soldier across from him is gunned. “It took me a month to lose that feeling of being a spectator to...

Read more ›
The Kelloggs

The Kelloggs

"What's more American than Corn Flakes?" —Bing CrosbyFrom the much admired medical historian (“Markel shows just how compelling the medical history can be”—Andrea Barrett) and author of An Anatomy...

Read more ›
The Misfortune of Marion Palm

The Misfortune of Marion Palm

A wildly entertaining debut about a Brooklyn Heights wife and mother who has embezzled a small fortune from her children's private school and makes a run for it, leaving...

Read more ›
On the Banks of the Ya Crong Poco River

On the Banks of the Ya Crong Poco River

From the daring and controversial autobiographical novel that took the world by storm—the harrowing opening section of The Sorrow of War. Bao Ninh, a former North Vietnamese...

Read more ›
Surfing with Sartre

Surfing with Sartre

From the bestselling author of Assholes: A Theory, a book that—in the tradition of Shopclass as Soulcraft, Barbarian Days and Zen and the Art of Motorcycle...

Read more ›
Willa Cather

Willa Cather

Hermione Lee’s provocative and influential biography provides a sensitive reappraisal of a marvelous and often underrated writer. The Willa Cather she reveals here was a Nebraskan...

Read more ›
A Boy in Winter

A Boy in Winter

Early on a grey November morning in 1941, only weeks after the German invasion, a small Ukrainian town is overrun by the SS. This new novel from the award-winning author of the Booker Prize short-listed The Dark Room...

Read more ›
The Clockwork Dynasty

The Clockwork Dynasty

An ingenious new thriller that weaves a path through history, following a race of human-like machines that have been hiding among us for untold centuries, written by the New York Times bestselling...

Read more ›
Pieces of Happiness

Pieces of Happiness

A novel of five lifelong friends who, in their sixties, decide to live together on a cocoa farm in Fiji, where they not only start a chocolate business but strengthen their friendships and rediscover...

Read more ›
The Unaccompanied

The Unaccompanied

A powerful new collection of poetry from the National Book Critics Circle Award nominee and recipient of the Forward Poetry Prize In The Unaccompanied, Armitage...

Read more ›
The Goddesses

The Goddesses

"A haunting story of betrayal and forgiveness" (Kirkusabout a woman who moves her family to Hawaii, only to find herself wrapped up in a dangerous friendship, from the celebrated...

Read more ›
The Heavenly Table

The Heavenly Table

In 1917, in that sliver of border land between Georgia and Alabama, Pearl Jewett ekes out an existence as a dispossessed farmer along with his three criminally-minded...

Read more ›
The Captain's Daughter

The Captain's Daughter

PEOPLE magazine says: "Don't miss this heartfelt story about paths not taken."For fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Emma Straub comes an emotionally gripping novel about a woman who...

Read more ›
A Distant View of Everything

A Distant View of Everything

When a matchmaker begins to question her latest match, Isabel Dalhousie is called upon to help. A new baby brings an abundance of joy to Isabel and her husband,...

Read more ›
All Passion Spent

All Passion Spent

Irreverently funny and surprisingly moving, All Passion Spent is the story of a woman who discovers who she is just before it is too late.After the...

Read more ›
Attic

Attic

Here is the slim, stunning debut novel from the acclaimed author of Geek Love. Attic follows a young woman named Kay who has joined a cult-like organization...

Read more ›

Load more